2023: 15 Governorship Candidates to Challenge Makinde as INEC Releases Final List of Candidates in Oyo


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the final list of candidates for the governorship elections in Oyo State.

The list which contains names/candidates for the Governorship/State House of Assembly Elections was pasted at both INEC state office and local government area offices.

This was made known in a release made public by INEC Administrative Secretary, Biodun Onikate-Amosu, on Tuesday.

According to the final list of candidates released by INEC, those to contest with the governor are Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party, Teslim Folarin of APC, Ajekiigbe Lateef of AA, Akinwale Tawfiq of Labour Party (LP) and Popoola Olukayode of the NNPP.

Others are Okedara Mojeed (AAC), Ajadi Bamidele (ADC), Yusuf Akim (ADP), Adeshina Adewale (APGA), Adeniran Adeyemi (APM) and Yinusa Kazeem (AAP).

The list is completed with Okunade Tunde, Boot Party; Adegboyega Raymond, National Rescue Movement; Micheal Lana, Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Euba Aduragbemi of the Young Progressives Party.

He said the pasted names would serve as precursor to the commencement of campaign activities slated for 12th October 2022, while adding that campaign activities for the Presidential/National Assembly Elections have already begun on 28th September 2022 accordingly.

Meanwhile, Governor ‘Seyi Makinde on the platform of PDP will slug it out with candidates of 15 other parties in the March 11, 2023 election in the state.

Published alongside the names of the 16 governorship candidates are the names of their running mates.

The Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), however have no candidates for the governorship election in Oyo State.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here