16 C
New York
Monday, September 25, 2023

Buy now

28 LGAs Affected As INEC Migrates Voters In 815 Polling Units In Oyo

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in Oyo state said it has migrated some eligible voters in eight hundred and fifteen (815) polling units under twenty eight (28) Local governments in the state.

The Residents Electoral Commissioner, Dr Adeniran Tella disclosed this while addressing newsmen at the INEC office, in Agodi, Ibadan.

Dr Tella who said the redistribution of voters in the affected polling units was to decongest saturated polling units which usually makes voting cumbersome on Election Day.

He said the Commission has already pasted the lists of polling units in all the affected 28 council areas in the State to allow transparency in the electoral process ahead of the forthcoming elections.

The INEC commissioner said eligible voters can also visit the commission’s website www.voters.inecnigeria.org to check their names on the register of voters and confirm the location of their Polling Units.

His words: “Distinguish Ladies and Gentlemen of the Press, I am glad to let you know that the Polling Units with migrated voters have already been pasted in all the affected 28 Local Government Areas of the State, comprising 815 Polling Units, to see and at the same time to be well informed ahead of Polls.

“This has been done in consultation with all the stakeholders in the Electioneering Process. Importantly, it should also be noted that eligible voters can as well visit the INEC voters’ verification system on www.cvr.inecnigeria.org/vvs or voters.inecnigeria.org to check their names on the register of voters and at the same time confirm the location of their Polling Units, where they will vote on Election Day.

“However, below is the summary of the affected 815 Polling Units in the 28 Local Government Areas with migrated Voters.”

The local government areas and number of affected units are Afijio – 04, Akinyele – 60, Atiba – 57, Egbeda – 64, Ibadan North – 60, Ibadan North East – 49, Ibadan North West – 26, Ibadan South East – 93, Ibadan South West – 34, Ibarapa Central – 04, Ibarapa East – 03, Ido – 23, Irepo – 07, Iseyin – 02, Itesiwaju – 03, Kajola – 02, Lagelu – 65, Ogbomoso North – 07.

Others are Ogbomoso South – 09, Ogo Oluwa – 04, Oluyole – 68, Ona Ara – 45, Orelope – 04, Oriire – 09, Oyo East – 39, Oyo West – 33, Saki West – 26, Surulere – 15

He added that: “In addition to the aforementioned figures and affected L.G.As, let it be emphasized again that, Commission has already pasted the lists in all the affected 28 LGAs in the State. This will allow for transparency in the electoral process ahead of the forthcoming elections.

“Closely related in the distribution of Voters is the identification of Polling Units which was discovered in the recently conducted mock accreditation exercise carried out in the selected LGAs using BVAS. It is indeed clear that some voters could not easily identify their Polling Units. This should not happen on Election Day, hence the pasting of affected Polling Units with Migrated Voters.”

“The Presidential/National Assembly Elections still remain on Saturday 25th February 2023 while that of the Governorship/State House of Assembly Elections comes up on 11th March 2023 respectively. Let us cooperate with the Commission to ensure hitch free, credible and inclusive General Elections in the State.”

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles