Akéde Ọ̀yọ́
Akéde Ọ̀yọ́ is Oyo's foremost Online Community Newspaper, Publishing Articles on Politics, Culture, Sports And Entertainment.

- Advertisement -

Be Calm — Lamists, SENACO, Ladoja’s Loyalists, PDP Reform, Returnees From ADP, ADC Assure Oyo APC Members


• Pass Confidence Vote On Buni-led Caretaker Committee

- Advertisement -

Following the postponement of the congress of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in Oyo State, earlier scheduled for yesterday, some groups within the party have asked party members to be calm as the national leadership of the party sorts things out.

- Advertisement -

It would be recalled that members of the party who had come from across the 33 local government areas of the state had to leave the Obafemi Awolowo Stadium, Oke-Ado in a sad mood after learning that the congress had been postponed.

The postponement, according to a statement by the party, was necessitated following the forging of documents meant for the exercise and other irregularities.

While asking the committee saddled with the conduct of the congress to return to Abuja, APC caretaker chairman and Yobe governor, Mallam Mai Buni, in a statement by the caretaker secretary, John James Akpanudoedehe, Saturday morning, said the suspension became necessary to ensure credibility of the process leading to the emergence of new leaders in Oyo State, adding that the party would not tolerate acts of indiscipline and fraudulent manipulation of processes of any kind.

But the groups in the party, in a joint release commended the national secretariat for saving the party.

The 6 groups – Lamists (loyalists of late former governor Lamidi Adesina), SENACO (loyalists of late former governor Abiola Ajimobi), Ladoja’s loyalists from the Zenith Labour Party, ZLP, members who joined from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP Reformed); former governor Adebayo Alao-Akala’s Action Democratic Party, ADP; and African Democratic Congress, ADC, expressed disappointment with the turn of events within the party.

“We are disturbed by what is happening within the party. Our party is built on an ideal ethos of justice and fairness. While we are not cowards and ones to shy away from congresses, the postponement has saved our party from those who want to cut corners to seize the leadership of our great party.

“We urge our party faithfuls to be calm and go about their business as usual. The leadership of the party is working towards ensuring a hitch-free process,” the groups said.

The groups in the joint release also passed a vote of confidence on the Mai Buni led Caretaker Committee of the party.

Notable among those who signed the statement are Chief MK Olaoye, Alhaji Mufutau Adisa Gbayawu and Alhaji Kamorudeen Ajisafe for the Senator Ajimobi Campaign Organization (SENACO).

Chief Kehinde Balogun, Hon Fatai Salam(Former Oyo State House of Assembly Parliamentary Caucus Chairman), Hon Kehinde Subair (Former House of Assembly Majority Leader), Chief Mufutau Salawu (Former Commissioner for Finance) for the Lam Adesina Group (LAMIST).

Hon Waheed Akanbi(Former commissioner for Finance/Leader Ladoja group in Oyo State),Hon KK Raji (Former Executive Director) and Mrs Monisola Tegbe(Former Vice Chairman Accord party in Oyo State) for the LADOJA/ZLP GROUP.

Chief Wale Ohu, Alhaji Audi Lawal Marafa and Prof Abideen Olaiya (ADP Deputy Governorship Candidate) for the ADP returnees.

Others include Hon Segun Odebunmi Bunvic (Chairman House of Representatives committee on Information), Hon Tajudeen Kareem Were (Former House of Representatives Member), Hon Mojeed Olaoya (Oyo APC State Secretary), Hon Kayode Adanla (Former Oyo Apc State Financial Secretary), Alhaji Laide Busari, Hon Adigun Hammed Murphy (Former House of Assembly member), Hon Akin Alli (Former House of Assembly member), Hon Segun Ajanaku (Former House of Assembly member), Hon Olafioye Akinmoye (Former House of Assembly member),Hon Adebayo Ogunsola Hamsat (Former House of Assembly member), Hon Emmanuel Adelowo (Former House of Assembly member), Hon Abiodun Adegoke (Former House of Assembly member), Hon Oyebamiji Joshua (Former House of Assembly member), Hon Kehinde Oloya (Former House of Assembly member), Hon Sakirullahi Fajinmi (Former House of Assembly member), Hon Tajudeen Salawu (Former House of Assembly member), Hon D.A Lawal( Former House of Assembly Member),Hon Abiola Amballi, (Former Akinyele LGA Chairman), Hon Sumaila Oyetunde (Former Ona Ara LGA Chairman), Prince Gbade Lana (Former Ibadan North East LGA Chairman), Hon Kareem Oorelope (Former Oluyole LGA Chairman), Chief Taofeek Adegboyega (Bada Balogun of Ibadanland), Barrister Lowo Obisesan (Former Commissioner for Environment), Alhaji Dauda Bashiru (Dabas) and Alhaji Rafiu Adepoju among others.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More