Akéde Ọ̀yọ́
Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

EndSARS: Makinde visits Oyo Police Headquarters, promises to Compensate families of slain Officers.


Oyo State Governor, Engr. Seyi Makinde, has visited the Oyo State Police Headquarters and promised to compensate families of slain Officers from the N500million earmarked for the victims of EndSARS protests turned violence that greeted the state and the country.

On his arrival to the Police headquarters, the Governor was ushered into the office of the Commissioner of Police where the chatter of demand from the Police Force was handed over to him.

The Governor, however, promised to fulfill all the requests made by the Police Force which include the rebuilding of the destroyed Police Station, stolen properties, damaged Vehincles and so on.

Governor Makinde, who spoke during a courtesy visit to the state police command headquarters, Eleyele, Ibadan, on Monday, sympathised with the command over the death of five policemen and the 12 injured officers.

He said he supported the protest, as part of the demands was for better welfare package for police personnel, just as he lamented that it was hoodlums who hijacked the protest that began attacking policemen and burning stations.


“Therefore, I am here to tell you that you are not alone. You must put everything that happened behind you and look forward.

“I am here with you to make the load you are carrying lighter,” Governor Makinde said.

Earlier, the Deputy Inspector-General of Police (DIG) Adeleye Oyebade and the state’s Commissioner of Police, Joe Nwachukwu Enwonwu, had earlier thanked the governor for choosing the first working week in the month of November to visit the police command.

On the arrival of the governor, he was ushered into the office of the Commissioner of Police, where he was handed a document containing a list of requests by the command to the state government, something which the governor said everything would be done.

The governor also used the opportunity to decorate 16 officers of the command who were promoted from Superintendent of Police (SP) to Chief Superintendent of Police (CSP.)