15.6 C
New York
Friday, June 9, 2023

Buy now


In Ibadan, Court Jails Couple, 16 Others for Internet Fraud

Justice Iyabode Yerima of the Oyo State High Court, Ibadan, today, November 4, 2022 convicted and sentenced a couple; Aladenusi Adegboyega Ayodeji and Sadiat Omowumi rafiu to various jail terms for cybercrime.

The couple was convicted alongside eight others on separate one count charge each.

Other convicts are Adekoya Ojo Faruq Kolapo, Adekanmi Boluwatife Emmanuel, Omokaro Uyiosa Berry, Ajayi Lanre Lawrence, Babalola Segun Samuel and Bolaji Bolarinwa Toheeb.

They all pleaded “guilty” to the charges preferred against them by the Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

Consequently, prosecution counsel, Samsuddeen Bashir reviewed the facts of the cases and urged the court to sentence the defendants accordingly.

Justice Yerima, thereafter, convicted Ayodeji to one imprisonment and his wife to six months community service, taking into account the fact that she is a breastfeeding mother.

Also, Babalola was convicted and sentenced to six months imprisonment while Adekoya, Adekanmi, Omokaro, Ajayi and Bolaji were sentenced to six months community service each.

The court ordered that the convicts restitute their various victims and forfeit all items recovered from them to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

In a similar development, ten cybercriminals were convicted and sentenced to various jail terms ranging three months imprisonment to one year jail term by Justice Mohammed Owolabi of the State High Court, sitting in Ibadan, Oyo State on November 4, 2022.

The convicts who were arraigned and convicted on a lone count each are: Owoseni Opeyemi Emmanuel, Micheal Banjo Oluwatoyin, Mustapha Temitope Abdulsodiq, Olawuyi Olanrewaju Ridwan, Edobor Lucky Uhunoma, Ilori Peter Oladayo, Basit Kolawole Ibrahim, Falade Adeyinka Moses, Abdullahi Teslim Taiwo and Temidayo Demilade Adebowale.

They all pleaded ‘guilty’ to the charges filed against upon their arraignments.

In view of their pleas, prosecution counsel, Mabas Mabur reviewed the facts of the cases and prayed the court to convict and sentence the defendants as charged.

Consequently, Justice Owolabi convicted and sentenced Owoseni to one year imprisonment, Olawuyi to seven months imprisonment, Temidayo to three months jail term while Michael, Mustapaha, Edobor, Ilori, Basit and Abdullahi bagged six months imprisonment.

Also, Falade Adeyinka Kolapo was convicted and ordered to pay N250, 000.00 (Two Hundred and Fifty Thousand Naira) fine.

Furthermore, the convicts were ordered to restitute their various victims and forfeit all items recovered from them to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

Akéde Ọ̀yọ́
Akéde Ọ̀yọ́http://Akedeoyo.com
Akéde Ọ̀yọ́ is Oyo's foremost Online Community Newspaper, Publishing Articles on Politics, Culture, Sports And Entertainment.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles