In Ibadan, Former Deputy Gov. Taofeek Arapaja, Deji Aboderin, Yinka Omikunle, Thousands Supporters Decamped to PDP


A one-time Deputy Governor of Oyo State, Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja on Tuesday and his teeming followers numbering about one thousand formally join the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Ibadan South East Local Government area yesterday.

Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja who addressed the crowd said that they took the Political step of returning to the party because of the Stirling performance of the ruling party in the State, adding that it has surpassed that of previous administrations.

The event which took place at Christ Church Primary School, Odinjo, Ibadan, had Political bigwigs across the State in attendance.

Among Party’s dignitaries that graced the occasion were the former first Lady in Oyo State, Alhaja Mutiat Olayinka Ladoja, who represented the Oyo State Governor, Engr Seyi Makinde State. Chairman of PDP, Alhaji Kunmi Mustapha, Hon. Dare Adeleke, Alhaji Tiamiyu Abidikugu, party chairman in Ibadan South East Local Government, Engr Sulaimon Adesina and others.

Others included member of the federal House of representatives, Hon. Abass Agboworin, Hon. Rasaq Abdulahi, Hon. Segun Popoola, Hon. Yay Akinbile, Alhaji Gbade Adeleke, Mogaji Abass Oloko, Alhaji Dsuda Yusuff, Hon. Yemi Aderibigbe, special adviser to the Governor on local government and chieftaincy affairs, Hon. Babatunde Oduyoye, Special Adviser on Political Matters among others.

This newspaper had earlier reported how the set of returnees joined the party at a mega rally organized by the PDP at Mapo Hall in March this year but was curtailed due to the outbreak of Covid-19 that restricted social gatherings.

Other returnees at the gathering included the Special Adviser to the Governor on Culture and Tourism, Hon. Akeem Ademola Ige, Hon. Fatai Adesina, Hon. Dele Ojo, Hon. Adedoja Ekolo and Hon. Sunday Babatunde. Hon. Deji Aboderin, APC candidate for Ibadan South East/North East in 2019 election and Hon. Yinka Omikunle from Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here