LAUTECH’S OWNERSHIP: Five Important Things Enshrined in the MoU You Should Know


Yesterday, the Nigerian Universities Commission transfered the ownership of jointly owned Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso to Oyo State Government after a Memorandum of Understanding has been duly signed by Osun State and Oyo State.

This newspaper recalls that when Osun State was carved out of the old Oyo State in 1991, Oyo and Osun states became joint owners of the institution.

Here are five Important things to note in the Memorandum of Understanding signed by the two States

  1. Under the deal brokered by the National Universities Commission (NUC), Osun will inherit the College of Health Science, based in Osogbo.
  2. Both the Staffs and Students of the Institution from both States enjoy equal rights and obligation. He students are to pay equal tuition fees, while Staffs from Osun have their jobs secured.
  3. Osun Students will also not be subjected to fees or admission differentials. They will pay the same tuition fees as their Oyo counterparts.
  4. The agreement ceded the LAUTECH Teaching Hospital and all its assets to Osun.
  5. Mercyland Hospital and it’s Ilie are now properties of the State of Osun .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here