Akéde Ọ̀yọ́
Akéde Ọ̀yọ́ is Oyo's foremost Online Community Newspaper, Publishing Articles on Politics, Culture, Sports And Entertainment.

Oyo South APC Primaries to Be Re-conducted On Tuesday


The appeal panel for Oyo APC primary has concluded plans to reschedule the election of the Oyo South primary for Tuesday, May 31, 2022; due to an alleged case of total vote cast exceeding the number of accredited delegates.

- Advertisement -

It was gathered that the number of accredited delegates was 477 while the total vote cast was 575.

- Advertisement -

Although 18 delegates were reportedly absent, how 80 excess votes got to the polling box is still unknown.

The primary election, earlier billed to hold on Saturday, was postponed till Sunday due to some difficulties.

On Sunday, before the commencement of the accreditation, heavy security was provided and only accredited delegates and aspirants were allowed in.


However, despite these, there were still irregularities in the conduct of the primary, as Adegboyega Adegoke got 53 votes, Bimbo Adekanmbi 98 votes, Sarafadeen Alli who had earlier withdrawn from the primary got 107 votes, Dr Kola Balogun 93 votes, Idris Kola-Daisi 212 votes, Waheed Olajide 2 votes, Rotimi Francis Adeniyi 4 votes while 6 votes were void.

At the end, the presiding officers on Sunday night could not announce the winner of the primaries due to the 20.5 percent over voting.

Recall that Kolapo Kola-Daisi had earlier been announced as the winner of the primary which held on Sunday at the Le Chatteau Event Centre, Bodija, Ibadan.

The Seven (7) aspirants who participated in the contest include — Adegboyega Adegoke, Bimbo Adekanmbi, Sarafadeen Alli, Kola Balogun, Idris Kola-Daisi, Waheed Olajide and Rotimi Francis Adeniyi.

Meanwhile, Adesoji Akanbi and Ayodeji Karim withdrew shortly before the contest commenced.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More