Akéde Ọ̀yọ́
Akéde Ọ̀yọ́ is Oyo's foremost Online Community Newspaper, Publishing Articles on Politics, Culture, Sports And Entertainment.

- Advertisement -

State Congress: “Replace Disqualified Aspirants In 24 Hours” – Oyo APC C’tee Tells Party Stakeholders


As the All Progressives Congress(APC) warms up for its Congress in Oyo state which has been rescheduled for this Saturday, the Panel set up to screen aspirants vying for various state executive positions has called on relevant stakeholders to send fresh names to replace those that have been disqualified to participate as contestants in the exercise.

- Advertisement -

The Panel headed by Engr. Idris Adeoye had to suspend its activities last weekend following the announcement of the suspension of the state congress earlier slated for Saturday October 16, 2021 but it resumed sitting again on Monday and concluded its assignment today(Wednesday) after attending to over 100 aspirants from across the 33 local government areas in the state.

- Advertisement -

In a statement issued on Wednesday and made available to journalists in Ibadan by its Secretary, Hon. Afeez Bolaji Repete, the Committee revealed that it disqualified “all aspirants eyeing the post of State Assistant Youth Leader and four out of the five who sought to vie for Senatorial Youth Leader position because they were found to be over-aged.

"At the end of the screening exercise, we found out that majority of party members eyeing Youth Leadership positions across board have passed the age bracket of between 18 and 35 years stipulated in the guidelines released by the National Secretariat of our great Party and they were summarily disqualified. Unfortunately, we lost one of the aspirants for the position of Assistant State Youth Leader on Sunday, a day after he appeared before the screening committee (Hon. Ogundiran Sunday)

Also disqualified are all aspirants who jettisoned the Zoning arrangements prescribed by leadership of the party in the state and thus sought offices outside their geopolitical zones.
“As a result of this development, we urge aspirants who attended the screening exercise to contact the Secretariat of the party in Oke-Ado to ascertain their status- whether qualified or disqualified. We also use this medium to call on relevant stakeholders to forward fresh nomination to replace those that have been disqualified on or before 12 noon tomorrow (Thursday).
“Also, it may interest the public to know that four eminent members of the party from Oke-Ogun Zone 1 expressed their desire to emerge as the next State Chairman and they all have good account of themselves at the screening exercise. They are; Alhaji Abu Gbadamosi Adejare (Kajola), Mr. Dele Akinleye (Itesiwaju), Engr. Abolade Yekeen Akanni (Iseyin) and Hon. Isaac Ajiboye Omodewu (Itesiwaju).

Alhaji Olaide Abass was the only one screened for the position of State Deputy Chairman

Equally, 4 aspirants were screened for the position of Secretary, they are;
Hon. Musibau Ayodele Amuda ( Oyo East)
Prince Tajudeen Olanite( Oyo East)
AbdulGaniyu Qusim Okanlawon ( Afijio)
Hon. Okunlola Taiwo( Oyo East)

“It is worthy of note that Oyo APC can boast of quality hands as all the aspirants who appeared before the Panel demonstrated zeal, readiness and competence to excel in the post being sought if given the opportunity to serve as individuals. Finally, we use this medium to appeal for calm among gladiators and major players within Oyo APC as the National Secretariat is doing everything possible to conduct a hitch-free Congress this Saturday.” The statement concluded. We use this medium to equally thank the chairman of the screening committee ( Engr. Idris Adeoye) for displaying exemplary leadership
Signed by
Engr. Idris Adeoye (Chairman)
Hon. Afeez Bolaji Repete (Secretary)
Hon. Niyi Adeagbo (Member)
Hon. Bello Akeem Abiodun (Member)
Hon. Kolawole Moses Olusegun (Member)
Hon. Ogunwale David. (Member)
Hon. Titilope Gbadamosi (Member)


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More