Akéde Ọ̀yọ́
Akéde Ọ̀yọ́ is Oyo's foremost Online Community Newspaper, Publishing Articles on Politics, Culture, Sports And Entertainment.

- Advertisement -

UI VC Race: Four Profs Present, Others Absent At Interactive Session


Only four Professors were physically present at the town hall meeting organised by the UI Community Forum tagged: “The voice of the next UI VC: Who is next?”

- Advertisement -

Sixteen contestants were expected to present their agenda to the university community.

- Advertisement -

The acting vice-chancellor, Professor Babatunde Ekanola, also in the race was absent at the session but sent a video presentation.

Ekanola apologised he was on an important official assignment.

The UI Community Forum established in 2000 has maintained a culture of having a town-hall meeting with aspirants to the position of the Vice-Chancellor of the University.

The debate monitored by The Nation was streamed live on various social media platforms.

The event was organised by the UI Community Forum consisting of five unions in the premier institution ― Academic Staff of Union of Universities (ASUU), Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), Students Union (SU), Non-Academic Staff Union of University (NASU) and the Non-Academic Technicians (NATS).

The Nation reports the process of electing the institution’s VC in the past months had been marred with various allegations, counter-allegations and engulfed in a series of crises due to clashes and misunderstandings between various interest groups.

Those in attendance were Professor Hakeem Babatunde Faweyinmi of the University of Port Harcourt; Professor Rasaq Olatunde Kalilu of the Department of Fine and Applied Arts Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH); Professor Ganiyu Aderounmu and Professor Adeyinka Abideen Aderinto of the Department of Sociology.

Others, including Professor Kayode Oyebode Adebowale of the Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science; Professor Babatunde Salako, the acting vice-chancellor of the University, Prof. A.B Ekanola made video presentations played at the session.

Others absent because they were on various assignments or engagements were Prof. B.L Salako; Prof. A.B Ekanola; Prof. K.O Adebowale; Prof. E.O Faronbi; Prof. Olaopa; Prof. Raji Oyelade; Prof. Ademowo; Prof. Kolawole and Prof. Layiwola.

The Nation learnt the institution’s council has indicated its determination to produce a substantive Vice-Chancellor by Oct. 14 in line with its revised time table while screening to select six out of the 16 contestants would hold on Oct. 13 after the election of Oct. 12.

The council would do the final selection of the six, interview them and ratify the appointment of a new Vice-Chancellor on Oct. 14.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More