Court Convicts 13 Internet Fraudsters In Ibadan


Oyo State High Court sitting in Ibadan, the state capital has convicted no fewer than thirteen (13) internet fraudsters.

The internet fraudsters were convicted between Thursday, October 27, 2022, and Friday, October 28, 2022 sequel to their arraignment by the Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

The EFCC had earlier dragged the internet fraudsters to court over allegations of financial fraud.

The suspects were convicted by Justices Olusola Adetujoye and Bayo Taiwo of the Oyo State High Court, Ibadan.

Wilson Uwujaren, Head of Media and Publicity of EFCC, in a statement made available to DAILY POST on Tuesday, November 1, 2022, explained that 12 of the convicts were prosecuted before Justice Adetujoye on separate one count charge each, and one before Justice Taiwo.

According to him, the convicts included Azeez Usman Olatunji, Tofunmi Segun Oyebade, Yusuf Akorede Toheeb Abiodun, Elegbede Abiodun Timileyin, Odewumi Toheeb Olamilekan and Abiodun Adam Kolawole.

Others, according to Uwujaren are Uthman Olajire Olamilekan, Ridwan Oladimeji Oluwatobi, Showemimo Akeem Abiodun, Saliu Ibrahim Akanji, Owie Aisosa Kelvin, Ugwu Simon Ogbonna and Olaoye James.

He added that, upon their arraignments, they all pleaded “guilty” to the charges filed against them by the anti-graft agency.

Uwujaren, while speaking further, noted that the prosecution counsel, Oyelakin Oyediran, Sanusi Galadanchi, Samsudeen Bashir and Mabas Mabur reviewed the facts of the cases and urged the courts to convict and sentence the defendants accordingly.

He explained that justice Taiwo convicted and sentenced Olatunji to six months of community service while Justice Adetujoye convicted and sentenced Oyebade, Yusuf Akorede, Elegbede, Kolawole, Uthman and Owie to two months of community service each.

Justice Adetujoye sentenced Ridwan, Akanji and Ogbonna to three months of community service each, while Odewumi and Showemimo were sentenced to a month of community service each.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here