Five Stations Razed, Six Policemen Killed In Oyo During #EndSARS Violence—Oyo CP


The Commissioner of Police in Oyo State, Mr Nwachukwu Enwonwu has revealed that six policemen were killed, while five police stations were burnt by hoodlums during the violence that trailed the #EndSARS protest in the state.

Enwonwu, who said this at a press briefing in Ibadan on Wednesday, however said nine suspects were arrested in connection with arson and looting in Iseyin, in the Iseyin Local Government Area of the state.

The suspects were paraded before journalists at the briefing.

The CP, who lamented the killing of policemen, said some of them were roasted like goats for committing no offence against their attackers.

He further stated that six persons, who were arrested in Ogbomoso during the #EndSARS violence in the town, had been charged to court.

He said the command is on the trail of more people who looted, killed, and committed arson in the state, saying they would be arrested very soon.

“Six police officers were gruesomely murdered, five Divisional Police headquarters, Police Patrol vehicles were burnt down and exhibits looted in the exhibits room with many police arms and ammunition carted away due to activities of criminal elements who capitalised on the protest to perpetrate their heinous crimes.

“Nonetheless, the Oyo State Police Command have arrested no fewer than nine suspected arsonists and looters for allegedly attacking the Divisional Police headquarters, Iseyin on Thursday 22 October, 2020 and thereafter setting the station ablaze under the pretext of #EndSARS protests that lingered for so many days.

“A team of policemen attached to the unit moved swiftly to the area and in the process, nine of the arsonists and criminal looters were arrested in connection with the crimes, while some exhibits were recovered from them.

“Upon interrogations, the suspects confessed to the crime and also gave useful information that will lead to the arrest of other hoodlums who participated in criminal activities. Effort is on to arrest other fleeing suspects,” he said

The CP gave the names of the suspects as Taoreed Hamzat a.k.a Shorlex, 26 years; Tajudeen Ibrahim a.k.a Aji, 40 years; Moshood Fatai a.k.a Elewure, 39 years; and Musibau Abubakar a.k.a Stainless, 21 years.

Other suspects are: Sikiru Aliu a.k.a 1414, 25 years; Fasasi Fatai a.k.a Lemon, 24 years; Isiaka Olaniyi, 32 years; Raheem Toheeb; and Adeleke Akeem, 42 years.

While Hamzat confessed that he had a looted generator in his possession, others denied involvement in the crime.

Enwonwu commended some residents of the state for warding off arsonists who attempted to burn down police stations in their areas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here