LAUTECH TAKEOVER: Oyo Government to Pay Osun N8b As Part of Asset Sharing Agreement


Oyo State Government on Tuesday approved the sum of N8b to be paid to the Government of Osun which forms part of assets sharing agreement reached between the two states during negotiation for the sole ownership of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso.

Recall the crisis of interest between Oyo and Osun state governments over the ownership of the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) was finally laid to rest, as the National Universities Commission (NUC), ceded the institution to Oyo State in November, 2020.

The intercessor, NUC, also ceded the College of Health Sciences, located in Osogbo, to Osun State. Executive Secretary of NUC, Professor Abubakar Rasheed, made the announcement in Abuja, where he clarified that the administrative and other remuneration costs would be borne by the Oyo State Government, while the Osun State Government would bear the financial burden of the College of Health Sciences.

Recall that LAUTECH in Ogbomosho was established in 1990 by the old Oyo State government with the main campus located in Ogbomosho, Oyo State, while the teaching hospital was established in Osogbo, now Osun State capital.

GOALPOACHER NEWS reports that the mode of payment was reached after the State Executive Council meeting held at the Governor’s office, Agodi, Secretariat, Ibadan.

While briefing journalists after the meeting, the Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Barrister Olasunkanmi Olaleye revealed the mode of payment to the Osun state government.

“We will pay N1b in January 2021, another N1b in December 2021. While N3b will be paid in 2022 while the remaining N3b will be paid in 2023.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here