BREAKING: Makinde Defeats Teslim, Adelabu Others To Win Second Term


The incumbent Governor ‘Seyi Makinde of Oyo State has equalled the history of former Governor Abiola Ajimobi; to have become the second governor to secure re-election in the state.


Makinde, who is seeking re-election on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, cleared 31 out of the 33 local government areas in the state.

He beat the All Progressives Congress, APC, candidate, Teslim Folarin, and Accord Party, AP, candidate, Adebayo Adelabu.

Summary of the Result for Oyo State Governorship Election for four major Parties that contested.

1. PDP = 563,756 votes

2. APC = 256,685 votes

3. Accord = 38,357 votes

4. Labour = 1,500 votes

Total Vote Cast = 889,592
Total Votes Rejected = 14,920
Total Valid Votes = 874,672

Reporting directly from INEC Headquarters, Oyo State.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here